How must we see the leaders of the church?

Standard

1 This is how one should regard us, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God.
2 Moreover, it is required of stewards that they be found faithful.
3 But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you or by any human court. In fact, I do not even judge myself.
4 For I am not aware of anything against myself, but I am not thereby acquitted. It is the Lord who judges me.
5 Therefore do not pronounce judgment before the time, before the Lord comes, who will bring to light the things now hidden in darkness and will disclose the purposes of the heart. Then each one will receive his commendation from God.

1 Corinthians3

Paul and Apollos worked together as a part of the same team. Paul as an apostle but here he has been emphasising himself mainly as a gospel preacher, and Apollos as the trainer or teacher, paster. It is tempting even now to see these people as special and above the rest. Paul explains that they should be seen only as stewards of Christ. He once again emphasises the importance of Jesus. Now he confirms in verse 2 that it is important that stewards remain faithful. That is that they share the mysteries of God truthfully. However whether or not he is being faithful is only for God to decide. So now we read Paul’s words in trust that they are the inspired word of God. It is not our job to judge him but it is God’s. We need to be aware of judging others.
I am aware that there are some well known preachers who are not teaching good stuff. In church history the Roman Catholic Church had to be stopped. So a really good question is where is the boundary for action, this passage has me believing that we must blindly trust everything that passes from the pastors lips. I don’t believe that is true.

Leave a comment